6 miles! A PDR

Ah, after a wonderful long weekend, it’s back to work today! Thankfully for a short week!

After a much DELAYED long run... yesterday, I finally made it entire 6 miles!Β This is Personal Distance Record myself! My previous being 5 miles. Boo yah!

tumblr_inline_mgn258aCT61r79k32

I never really had a reason to run more than 5 miles before. Training for field hockey doesn’t require that long of runs. Now that I’m running a half marathon in March, it’s all apart of the plan. πŸ˜‰ Can’t wait to keep making it higher each weekend! That being said, I really wish I had a running buddy to get through all of it with!

I also did Body Pump class yesterday in the morning..having the day off I wanted to go because I never get the chance otherwise…I went and the class was great, very glad I went. Thankfully we did more arm work than leg work because if we had did lunges AND squats, pretty sure I wouldn’t have gotten very far.

tumblr_mdrbwsUcLm1r3gb3zo1_400

Unfortunately, my legs were tired. And I not thinking, I went the hilliest course I could have gone on. (DUH). From my house I have a possibility of 3 ways to start out… Not thinking about it, I chose land of the hills. Doi. Around mile 2 there’s these two back to back riduculous hills of terror that seem to go on forever. Whatever doesn’t kill you makes you stronger correct? πŸ™‚ Not the best choice of all after body pump, but thankfully miles 3.5 -6 were mostly flat or downhill. Around mile 4 I finally go in my groove back and the last 2 breezed by. I’m so happy I’m making these small mile increases in my mileage, my endurance has NEVER felt better! Boom.

tumblr_mb2y7pw9ea1qmqy5mo1_500

 

Thanks, Snooks.

 

  • You heard me brag about my accomplishment, go ahead tell me yours πŸ™‚
28 thoughts on “6 miles! A PDR

  1. Congrats on the PDR! 6 miles is a great distance! Up until a year ago, I considered it a long run so you’re doing awesome. I know you’re going to rock your half πŸ™‚

  2. Great job! My 6 miler last week was awesome because it was on a flat bike trail. My 7 miler this weekend was terrible – hillly and I was just not feeling it. It ended up being another 6 miler. You win some, you lose some.

  3. Congrats on your new long run, Katie! That’s one thing I loved about training for my half-marathon this summer–every long run I completed equated to a new PDR. πŸ™‚

  4. Snooki gif is freaking amazing. I do that all the time. You know…. I wish I could hit up a body pump class, those were my favorite. I know if I don’t get a run in right away in the am there is no way I would do it so congrats lady

  5. Alright, I have to admit that my mind automatically translated PDR into personal damn record instead of personal distance record. πŸ™‚ Great job on getting out there and getting it done (with hills, no less)! You’re well on your way to rocking that 1/2 mary. Whoop-whoop!

Tell Me Something Good

