Believe I Am

As I talked about yesterday, the mental aspect of running and training is tough. Many of you agrees with me too. This is one reason that after reading such good reviews, I decided to purchase a Believe I Am training journal. This journal was made by 2 pro runners (Including Lauren Fleshman–> Oiselle Athlete!) as a tool to help others get the best out of their training. I decided hey, why not? I definitely need help in preparing formula first half marathon, whether it be physically or mentally.

20130115-192854.jpg

There was a page for goals as well as 12 months to keep track of your training daily. I have enough space to write what my workout was, miles, pace, how I felt..etc. There’s also a blank journal part if needed to write more about a specific training.

Not to mention the awesome goals sheet and even a map to get you started on setting goals and accomplishing them!

ย 20130115-195201.jpg

My favorite sheet was the goal setting sheet. Its a great place to write something specific and ways to achieve them. I’ll share a little peek of my goals…

IMG_1229

I loved sitting down and writing this out. Just thinking these things in my head doesn’t compare to how it feels now that I wrote it down and have a plan of action to see these things out.

IMG_1232

The book encourages you to check in every so often to check back. I have loved logging workouts and reflecting on them. I easily add up my miles, and get to look back on paces I’ve ran over the week, to see if there is improvement or anything I can change. On Sunday I sat down and wrote a lot, which helped..especially after that terrible run Saturday!

So even if you DON’T use the BIA journal..I encourage you to get your creative juices flowing, and write about your training and/or your workouts. Set some goals, writing them down makes them seem REAL and ATTAINABLE!

  • Do you use workout logs or journals?
  • Do you have specific goals in mind when training for an event?
23 thoughts on “Believe I Am

  1. Wow this is really cool. I use dailymile to log my workouts for the social aspect but I also use a piece of paper to log it for my own personal use. I like that that one forces you to look back at your training as well. Right on.

  2. I love the idea of a training journal. I like to blog because it tracks my workouts, my thoughts, and my feelings. It’s perfect!

  3. I love this idea!!! I use dailymile to track my workouts. I love the social aspect of it, because it motivates me to workout more! I mean I don’t want my mileage to look low in front of everyone!

  4. i log all my workouts on the runkeeper app (i think that’s what it’s called). i like to keep track of my pace and mileage but i don’t want to use daily mile because i don’t want the social media aspect of it (makes me a little crazy with competing with people i have no right to compete with, lol). anyway i love this journal! i really like pen and paper so i might need to invest in a log like this.

  5. Love that you have field-hockey written in. ๐Ÿ™‚ I haven’t played since junior year of college, and even then, I was just casually hitting and passing with one of my friends. This is the first year I bought a planner solely for workouts/training, and I really like it so far!

  6. I just write down in my planner the workout I do each day and use my note app on my phone to plan out my week. However, I love this journal and I think it might be a good idea to invest in one myself.

  7. I’ve seen this journal online before, but thanks for showing some pictures and talking about it more than I’ve read before. I usually track my workouts, but not in any place that is this unique. I may have to consider purchasing it for 2013.

    SPA โค

  8. keeping a training log is SO IMPORTANT! And the Believe I Am one is really unique….I want one so bad. I think I am going to treat myself to it once I can be running and cycling again….

  9. I also use daily mile as a way to keep a log of my workouts, and how I feel, etc. I’ve come across articles and blogs about the Believe I Am Journal, and have heard nothing about good things! It’s always in my mind to order one, but never actually do it! Hm… I just should, huh?

Tell Me Something Good

