NYC Half Training

Happy 2013 everyone! I hope you all had a great New years. Mine was low key, but spent with Drew! Any time we can see each other is a bonus 🙂

IMG_1143

Annnnnd so vacation is officially over. I seriously haven’t worked since the last day of school because of the gym schedule and me visiting my family. Tomorrow will definitely be a rude awakening. I seriously had the blues last night thinking about getting back to a crazy work schedule (alarms- ew!) haha, but, oh well, once I’m into the swing of things I’m sure I’ll be back into it.

Speaking of schedules, NYC Half Training officially started yesterday! I bought a small planner to help me organize my running through the next months. I decided to go with Hal Hilgdon’s Novice 2 Half Marathon Plan.

IMG_1146

Fancy.

With the day off yesterday, Drew, myself, and my Dad went for a run (1.5 miles) up to the school where my dad teaches and did a circuit workout, and then ran our way back home another 1.5 miles. So, I did get my 3 miles in yesterday- even if not in a row… I wasn’t too concerned about it considering I’ve been consistently running 3-4 miles for the past 2 months. I’ll take it 🙂

Our Workout:

km2

 

It was a good one! my legs were already feeling it on the way back. I hope to keep cross training like this and not to mention keeping up with foam rolling to (hopefully) stay injury free for this training! 🙂

  • How was your New Years?
  • What is your favorite type of cross training?
21 thoughts on “NYC Half Training

    • haha I LOVE it. Honestly I wouldn’t have been upset if I had been asleep! Moving totally wipes you out so I understand. And yes I agree, a well, and rested 2013 🙂

  1. You’re so wise to cross train! I teach spin, so I get that in a few times a week, and I try to do some kind of weights circuit regularly, too. It will definitely benefit your running. Best of luck in the training cycle- that’s exciting!

  2. i love hal higdon’s plans – i finally bumped up to the intermediate for the rock n’ roll half because i wanted to try out some speed work. i just started last week but i’m hoping it goes well. and i definitely feel you on the whole going back to work thing – this morning was BRUTAL! i hated my alarm.

    • i had looked at the intermediate but the mileage was too high for what I wanted so once i build up a little i’m going to try my own speed work. I hope it goes well for you! and i agree that alarm was KILLER.

  3. I haven’t worked out in about a week. I’ve been too lazy or too busy with family and cookies…oops! Must change that before I go crazy haha…it sucks not having a gym at my parents’ house and having icy roads!

    • I took a solid 3 days off over the weekend and holiday due to a little bit of sickness so no worries. I kinda felt it was refreshing! I like tone it up videos or sarah fit ones if you are looking for stuff to do at home 🙂

  4. can I just say I love how you, your dad, and Drew all train together sometimes? That’s so awesome, I wish more of my friends and family were into doing that. And UGHHH getting back to real life….well you are already back so I hope the alarms in the morning aren’t to jarring! I know when mine goes off at 5:45 tomorrow I am NOT going to be a happy camper haha

    • Its definitely awesome to have people who like to work out around me cause else i so would not do some of that crazy stuff by myself- thats for sure. Real life kinda blows lol i HATE alarmssss kill.

  5. Pingback: Post-Holiday Running Restart « Kara Runs

Tell Me Something Good

