2012 Recap

As 2012 winds down, I felt at this time it was pretty appropriate to do a recap of some of the things I was able to accomplish fitness wise this year. I was did a total of 4 duathlons (previously I thought 5 but I can’t count,clearly) and I did 4Β 5k’s.

This is the most I’ve ever raced in a year and I’m proud to have done fairly well, while I certainly had some ups and downs with some of the races this year. From extreme temperatures (COLD) to the side stitches of doom. Some recaps of races…

April 2012: Doylestown Duathlon 5k run, 25k bike. 5k run …finish 2:00ish (don’t even remember)

556261_3066950400733_1472730096_32423359_2068978400_n

Drew will probably vouch for the fact that this race was horrible for both of us. The temperature was very cold, the crosswinds were CRAZY and the bike course was absolutely brutal…but we both finished thankfully. At some point I regained the feeling back in my body.

May 2012Hagerstown Duathlon 2m Run, 10m bike, 5k run Finish:1:24

IMG_0587

I did this race on a whim after hearing about it. My mom drove down with me and it ended up being a great race. Just the right distance, well directed. The course was great because it was a nice big loop instead of having to repeat anything. I finished first in my age group…possibly beating one other person haha, but I’ll take it!

September 2012Dottie’s Duathlon Finish 2.1m run, 10m bike, 5k run Finish:1:27

MeDuBike

The anniversary of my very first duathlon unfortunately was not a good one…this is the side stitches from hell episode that started right away in the first mile of the run. Not a good way to start and they returned during the 2nd run as well. Needless to say I was happy when this was over. seriously. beyond happy. It was still fun because I did it with Drew and my dad.

October 2012Β –Dewey Beach Goes Pink 5k Finish….well. I finished.

IMG_0629 IMG_0631

Another race on a whim…I drove to Drew’s house near the beach in Maryland and begged him to take me to the race. He’s such a good sport. The race didn’t go well but I finished. and there was beer at the end. It was basically a big party. I’d go again.

October 2012Hagerstown Duathlon 2m run, 10m bike, 5k run Finish: 1:23 (a few seconds faster than the first in the spring)

This was the 2nd of series of races. I did the first one in April. I manage to finish this one much faster even in the frigid temps! I placed 2nd in my age group.

IMG_0683

22627_10151109587614646_923359684_n

October 2012Gettysburg 5k Finish; 27:40

IMG_0725

This was a local race for me, literally 5 miles down the road so of course I had to go! The race was good, one of my first in my full Oiselle kit. πŸ™‚ The 2nd half of the race had a super hill that killed me and an uphill finish.

November 20124 Diamonds 5k– 26:40

IMG_0678

This race was literally right down the street from my house through the school that my mom works at so I went with my mom and dad. My mom was helping with Girls on the Run which was pretty cool cause they had a big group participating.

November 2012Turkey Trot 5k– 26:51

IMG_0921

We “raced”. I won. duh. (NOT)

Thanksgiving morning, I did this race with my dad who kicked butt as usual! I had short bout with side stitches but I definitely would have done a little better without them. BOO. But a good start to my Thanksgiving day!

Looking back on this year and the growth I’ve made mentally when it comes to running and racing I am very proud to see how far I’ve come. The first duathlon of the year didn’t go well for me, but fortunately I came back and was ready to move on and do well in something else. Racing will always have it’s ups and downs but the competition keeps me coming back and I’m hoping to improve even more in #lucky13 πŸ™‚ And just wait to see what I have to announce next week πŸ™‚

  • What did you accomplish and are proud of this year?
33 thoughts on “2012 Recap

  1. That is such an accomplishment of a year (even if you don’t think so). I’m thinking 2013 will be a good year for you…you deserve it! Growing mentally is such an important factor of life and can make you a stronger athlete no matter.

  2. the year of the 5k!! Girl seriously this seems like a huge year for you – it’s awesome to have so many fun races near you. I’m so glad you kicked that side stitch issue UGGH lol I remember reading that and totally feeling your pain/annoyance! I can’t wait to see what 2013 has in store for you – half marathon?? πŸ˜€

  3. What a great year for you! It’s always fun to look back at all the progress we made. I’m hoping to do some duathlons this year. Just got a road bike from a friend who updated hers, yay!

  4. I grew up with many vacations at Gettysburg. So many memories. Now we all meet up there in February during President’s Day Weekend. This year I may suggest going when they have the 5k. Do you know when that will be?
    I love your year. You got a lot in. Very jealous. I hope I can get more in this year, now that I’m more knowledgable of stuff…lol..

    • I did one in October but there is one that always happens I want to say like Late May- june..its called The Spirit of Gettysburg 5k I believe so check it out!

      I love that you all still meet up here. it’s a very popular destination point! πŸ™‚ PS I hope you have a great year ahead of you too!

  5. Pingback: Why wait? | Katie Moves

Tell Me Something Good

