Testing…Testing

Hi everyone! I hope you had a good weekend. I had a great one considering someone decided late on Friday that they would be coming to visit! woo 🙂

It Ninja Drew! Jk- we went for a very cold bike ride! If you have to break out the Balaclava than you know its cold.

We also did a Crossfit workout inspired by my crazy dad, consisting of heavy ropes, push ups, med ball slams, kettle bell swings, and sit ups. So basically my adductors are HURTIN’ me today and I felt as if I was waddling. Let’s not even talk about sitting down…Now that was super painful!

Besides that little fact I’ve been feeling great workout wise. Although it was painful- mixing up my usual workouts was a good thing to do.

In other news…(where the whole testing thing comes in)… As you know I’ve been running a bit more than usual for me, which has been going great! I’ve been bitten by the race bug and I have enjoyed getting into racing and improving my run. I’ve been contemplating some more races in the spring and one just so happens to include…..

A HALF MARATHON!!!!!!!

I know! Who me!? I feel like in the blogging world this is really NBD, but for myself it would be a huge milestone IF it happens. There is an IF in there still because of my foot not always being the greatest with handling a large amount of running (hence the cycling!). I’m currently trying to test my foot by trying to put some more miles in and seeing how I feel. So far it’s been good besides some slight pain after a longer run/being on my feet all day, which I have felt like is normal and not anything to cause major concern.

In case you didn’t know, I’ve had some previous foot injuries that I’ve had to recover from and a lot of overuse still irritates it. I’ve dealth with Plantar Faciitis since high school (on and off) and had a pretty bad mid-foot sprain that also turned into a stress reaction in my Navicular bone of my foot.

I’m trying to ease into this as slowly as possible and see how I hold up before I commit and decide that I will be up for the training that would need to happen for a half marathon. Luckily, the one I would love to do is in the beginning of May (Pittsburgh!!) so there is plenty of time for me test and decide. I would love to do this because I would hopefully be doing it together with my best friend!

 

So as the next few weeks go I’ll be running when I can and seeing how it goes. I’m crossing my fingers that the feet hold up well and I can hopefully accomplish something on my bucket list wtihin the year! 🙂

  • How did you decide it was time to sign up for something new? A 5k, 10k, HALF MARATHON???
  • Any advice on training, or taking care of the body while doing so?
15 thoughts on “Testing…Testing

  1. Make sure you are 100% before you dive into training for the half. I’ve “restarted” the system before when coming back or starting a training cycle. Start with 1-2 miles, recover. Then a week later, go out for 3… a week later, go out got 4 and slowly build. Once you get to 5-7, take a week and drop back the milage. So your long runs on the weeks would look like this…2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 3, 7, 3.5, 8, 4… that is how I built for my first.

  2. Good on you! My only advice for overuse injuries (ive got a similar foot injury history) is if it starts to flare up stop running until it is fully healed. Don’t push through the pain, as tempting as it might be.

  3. 1. I love that drew is home & you two are able to spend more time together & 2. fingers crossed that your foot continues to heal & do well so you can indeed sign up for the half 🙂

    Happy Thanksgiving girl.

  4. amazing! You can definitely run this half! Just take your time with training and don’t go over your suggested mileage. I knew it was time to upgrade to a half when I could comfortably run 10+ km and I felt the bug to do it (much like you;) ) It sure is a challenging distance, but crossing the finish line never gets old…oh and then there’s the medal;)

    We can encourage each other because I am signed up for a full in March so I feel the same kind of nervous feeling about it. We can do it!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Ah yes I’m getting the bug!! 🙂 I am trying to keep my mileage increased a little at a time to build a nice base. I may look for a 10k to run before just so I have a longer race under my belt!

  5. Katie, guess what??!! I got your package yesterday & i loved everything! Thank you so much girl. I was running low on pb2, so it came at the perfect time! I hope you & your family had a wonderful Thanksgiving ❤

  6. My first half marathon is this week! I impulsively signed up for it when I found one nearby that was a good deal. I just did 4 long weekend runs 10k, 8 miles, 10 miles, and 12 miles plus upped my running a bit during the week. I think it’ll work! 🙂

  7. Ahhh YAYYYY!! I’m so excited for you! Just take it slow and definitely listen to your foot…and you’ll be fine!! I’m so excited to follow your training…hope it works out!! 🙂

Tell Me Something Good

