Visit on the Trail

Happy Wednesday!

I am getting pretty antsy for vacation time at this point! 🙂 almost!

Nothing to report fitness wise sorta had another unplanned rest day. But for good reason! Yesterday after work I went to meet my friend and roommate from college, Sammie. Currently Sammie is en route to hiking the ENTIRE Appalachian Trail.

20120627-084401.jpg

That’s Sammie by me in the green on our own hiking adventure in the pocono mountains in college.

Sammie has always been very outdoorsy and it was fun living with her and learning things from her about hiking and things! We lived in a good place to go hiking in college and it was one of our favorite weekend activities… Besides well ya know the normal college things 😉

Sammie set out to do the trail in March and won’t be done til September!
Crazy ! Here I’ll show you what she will have completed come then:

20120627-084945.jpg

Where the trail meets Maryland and PA and about 20 miles is above is where we met yesterday!

20120627-085246.jpg

She limbo’d over the MD/PA border!

I’m so happy and even proud of her doing this! She has wanted to do it for so long and it almost didn’t even happen! They had many set backs (including the awful sounding Noro virus that got her and her hiking partner) before and on the way but she is still completing this. Her and her hiking partner hike just about 20 miles and day and even completed a marathon day of 26.2 miles. That is just awesome!

Now I like hiking But only for a little at a time! After about 3 days of this I’d be crying for a shower. No seriously. It sounded incredibly interesting and you new plenty of characters along the way!

Sammie and I yesterday:

20120627-090350.jpg

She’s even hiking in a dress! She’s friggin’ awesome! Although, she said she has salt lines on it haha. I told her they were even more awesome. Honestly, this is how you set a goal and make it happen! Inspiring! 🙂

How do you think you would like carrying all that you own on your back, sleeping in a tiny tent with 3 walls of shelter around you? Not sure I could do it but there are many people who do!

Also wanted to let you guys know about the Mezamiishi run project going on from Mizuno! click the link and then go to get invite! You could
win some FREE shoes. I don’t know about you but I can’t get enough shoes 🙂

What Are your favorite running shoe brand? Are you afraid to try new kinds? not gonna lie I kind of am afraid to commit, but if they’re free shoes I might!

10 thoughts on “Visit on the Trail

  1. I only run in Mizunos! Absolutely love them – I definitely signed up for the run project.

    & your friend is amazing! I give her a lot of credit. Camping is not really my thing. I agree with you about needing a shower after a few days! A creek just ain’t gonna do it!

    • Haha I know!! I have no clue- but sitting there talking to her it sounds like a lot of
      Fun! I don’t think I could do the whole thing… Ever. The whole trip will take her 6 months!

  2. oh heyyy free mizuno’s, my fave brand!!

    And dude, so epic that your friend is through-hiking the appalachian trail!!! my little sis did it last year and it’s really no joke – but also sounds like a LOT of fun, and it’s so good she has a partner too – I couldn’t do more than one day by myself haha! I’m like you, I enjoy hiking but 3-4 days is definitely my limit, and then I need a cushy bed, a hot shower, and a giant hamburger haha.

Tell Me Something Good

