Weekend Recap: Pro Cyclists and not-so-pro Golfing

This weekend consisted of going to a Pro Bike Race in Philadelphia with Drew and his dad, and trying to teach Drew how to golf..i’ll start from the begging…

Sunday morning, I got up in the weeeeee hours to make it to Drew’s by 8:30ish so we could head on down the road to a trail that would take us into the center of Philadelphia to watch the race.

Drew got us ready and we set out for the trail ride into the city for the race I’m not sure where we started..not too familiar with the area but we were about 13 miles from Philly from what I’m told.

I don’t have any pics from the trail, but it was pretty cool! Shaded. It was also rocky so I had borrowed Drew’s mom’s hybrid bike because mine would have had flat tires in like 30 seconds of touching the trail. This bike was still comfy and light so it worked 🙂 There were some climbs in the trail, but nothing too bad. It was Sunday however, and very crowded and the beginning was a 5k race cleaning up…so it was a quite fun dodging people, animals…small children. Don’t worry I only hit a few..;) joking, I swear.

The Pro Cycling Men were to start at 10:45am and the women started 10 minutes later. We just missed the beginning of the race but as we were riding in to the Philadelphia Art Museum (a good spot to watch the race) the cyclists came by so a few times we stopped along the trail to watch.

I was literally just in awe of these guys. They are going SO. Fast. Um wait why am I surprised? They are Pro’s after all! but it really is just captivating to watch them! From what Drew was saying the men on average are going anywhere from 25-30 mph! With hills involved! I average 18.5 mph during my first race… On a completely flat course! Craziness! Their legs were so massive!

You may know this but theirs a ton of strategy involved in cycling. You have teams and they have different positions.. Such as a climber (little light person who can get up hills), the sprinter, (usually the person with big,massive quads who is fast as hell at the end, this person doesn’t do a whole lot during the entire race just to save their legs and be able to sprint to the finish), and the workhorses, who help their team to the front by doing most of the peddling the entire time.

20120605-080323.jpg

The women were also fun to watch! Girl
Power, duh! It is slightly nerve wracking to watch them all bike so close together, I could barely dodge people on the trail, let alone be in a pack of 50 people trying to bike!

20120605-080616.jpg

This was a really huge event for the city. Drew’s dad said he heard there would be something like 300,000 people in the city that day and I believe it!

We got a free cow bell! Yes!!

20120605-080847.jpg

And free water ice!

20120605-082501.jpg

We didn’t stay to watch the end (it lasted about 4 and a half hours) so we turned around and headed back… Good thing we did when we did because right at the end we got rained on a little bit! All and all it was about a 26 mile round trip and my legs were TIRED from the run the day before and then the ride. (My legs were so happy to be off yesterday!)

When we got back we went and played a little golf since Drew just found a set at a pawn shop and got them. We went to the driving range and then played a 9 hole chip ‘n putt course that was really fun! Can’t say we were good… 😉

20120605-081114.jpg

20120605-081138.jpg

And guess who won?? That’s right- ME 🙂 that’s alright I told Drew he has cycling and I have golf 🙂

That was my fun weekend! And today it was back to reality and working. Fun, fun!

How was all of your weekends? Anything exciting. Have any of you ever watched a bike race?

Don’t forget to check out PuraVit on Facebook today and enter their contest for FREE vitamins!

More Info:
PuraVit will be starting a weeklong giveaway. Each day, one winner and 2 of their friends will receive free 30-day set of vitamins. Head over to their Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/pages/PuraVit/369896759713293 to enter. You can enter every day to increase your chances of winning!

20 thoughts on “Weekend Recap: Pro Cyclists and not-so-pro Golfing

  1. Sounds like a fun-filled weekend! I definitely have the utmost respect for cyclists. I’m thinking of moving up to a duathlon next, and eventually a tri! I learned something new from your post: about the climber, sprinter, and workhorses! That’s neat. 🙂

    • Glad you learned something, i learned a lot at the race! and me too about the respect thing! you should try a duathlon for sure! i’ve loved all the ones i’ve done- its a great way to mix it up!

  2. I’m new to your blog, randomly found it through another, but figured I should comment and tell you that my husband was one of the Pro racers in the TD Bank race in Philly. I was in the feed zone working for the team. I race too, but didn’t do Liberty. Maybe some day. 🙂

    • That is SO cool!! What team? My boyfriend and I are bike fanatics/nerds and we thought it would be so cool to work with a team!! I’ve always wanted to just strictly bike race cause running is my weakest part of duathlons. I’m so glad you let me know 🙂

  3. Looks like fun! Theres seriously a TON of bike riders in that race. Whoa!

    I suck at golf but I really enjoy the driving range. I don’t have to focus, I just swing and hit it far haha. That might be why I’m so bad at mini golf, I don’t have the patience for putting!

    • the driving range is so fun! playing on a real course can be so hard cause there are too many variables lol..trees, ponds..uphill/downhill! putting does take a lot of practice and i hate it too yuck

  4. The only way I can hang out with the men in my family is to golf. I SUCK. I only pay the par 3s and par 4s because 5s take me WAY TOO LONG. Looks like you have a blast 🙂

    • SAME! my dad and I bond through golf 🙂 sometimes i have a really great hole and then sometimes..everything goes wrong! i agree the 5’s are soooo long. i much rather play a par 3

Tell Me Something Good

