The Plan

Hi everyone! it’s Thirsty Thursday! Almost to the weekend!

Lately my running efforts have been quite slacking…I’m pretty sure my last run was the Great Nike Plus Fail (still bitter) …

Seriously- that’s so me and my running efforts lately. Running is the part of duathlons/triathlons that I need the most work. Cycling- sure I’ll do that whenever. I can definitely run, and have while playing a sport my entire life, but going out and litterally “training” is not something I normally do. I just go out and run..mostly steady pace-tryingnottodie kind of run. But I know after a few races this year already that I need a lot of work getting to where I want to be. So how am I going to do this…? I’m sue you are all wondering.

I’LL MAKE A PLAN!

I think doing a little research and planning on what and how to improve my speed is my next step. Googling is probably what I’ll be doing the rest of the day.

I think seeing things written down on paper and following more of training plan is going to help me so much. At this point, I just go out and do what I want- not that it’s bad, but I think if I want results for my races I need to do some more planned prepping.

It can definitely help that I pretty much wear sneakers everywhere…

Some goals I have for this month:

  • Incorporate Speedwork! I’ve been scoping out some hills by my house and bleachers near by
  • Track workouts???? This I need to research.
  • Run Longer! I’ve never done many long runs before in my life…3-4 miles is my usual..never had much reason to do more
  • Fartlek Runs

Writing these down has already given me some motivation to make this happen. Currently I haven’t signed up for any duathlon races, I’m more of a sign up closer to the event kinda gal- where I live it would be very rare that you would have to worry about a race selling out. I’m on the lookout for my next race so we will see if one pops up soon. When I finally figure out a real plan, I’ll be sure to write about it.

What are some of your goals for this month? Anything you are training for requiring a plan. Also, any suggestions for me?? I’ve never made a real “training” plan for myself, and do you use any resources to help you plan? Any advice would be helpful!

11 thoughts on “The Plan

  1. These are great running goals, it always helps to make it not that you are just running but centering around specific workouts. My goals are to do more speed work in my runs and increase my strength training. I need some arm muscles baby!

  2. These goals are awesome! πŸ™‚ I’ve never been a runner, but I totally know what you mean about the comfort of having a training plan–I always have to write out my weight lifting workout before going to the gym or else I’m like a chicken with my head cut off haha!

  3. Those are really solid goals! I like to use the Runner’s World Smart Coach to help me create my training plans. I use it as a base, and then tweak things based upon what I want/what I can do. My goal for the month is to start getting back into morning runs!

  4. I’ll have to check that out, thanks!! Ooo morning runs can be tought for me, but when it’s warmer out I”m so much more motivated to get up earlier!

  5. Oh you’re gonna see so much progress after incorporating all of that!! I have a pretty simple formula for training (when I’m not injured). 1 short easy maintenance runs per week (3 miles). 1 speedwork session (which can be alternated every other week with a hill session), 1 medium length run (starting at 4 miles and building by a mile every week up until 6-10 depending on the distance you are training for…10 miles for a marathon) and one long slow run that slowly gets longer (depending on the distance you are training for)

    That’s 4 days of running and 3 days of not running. Easy right? Ok, well it’s not always that easy but it sounds easy πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Finding My Inner Yogi | Katie Moves

Tell Me Something Good

